|During the Civil War the railroad moved Union troops and supplies and was the target of many attacks. Bridges were burned and rebuilt, tracks were torn up and replaced, telegraph lines pulled down and restored. However, despite attempts, Confederate forces were never successful in destroying the famous bridges of Rowlesburg. In the prints below, the original bridge crossing Cheat River is shown. This bridge stood untouched throughout the Civil War due to valiant efforts of the undermanned Union regiment stationed in Rowlesburg.
|HARPER’S WEEKLY AUGUST 3, 1861
GENERAL HILL'S HEAD-QUARTERS IN ROWLESBURG.
P. 487 ROWLESBURG, the head-quarters of General Hill in Western Virginia, is situated in a deep gorge in the Alleghanies, at a point where the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad crosses Cheat River. The scenery around it is bold, grand, and picturesque, shut in by towering mountain-walls, the dark stream flows silently on, overshadowed with dense forests of hemlock and laurel. This region of country is wild and thinly populated, and deer and bear roam unmolested along the thickly-wooded slopes. The little village has sprung up since the opening of the railroad, and has become quite a thriving place. General Hill is at present concentrating all his troops at Rowlesburg, by order of General McClellan, for the purpose of cutting off the retreat of the Confederates lately under Garnett, at St. George. The illustration will be found on page 490.
|Historic Rowlesburg Bridges-->